Eternity (Greek Columns, Heels)

XU ZHEN®

Eternity (Greek Columns, Heels)

2020

Resin,stainless steel, paint, mineral pigments

820 x 390 x 133 cm

XU ZHEN®'s latest sculpture Eternity (Greek Columns, Heels) combines the classic Corinthian columns with a pair of red heels, which propels the ancient Greek heritage culture and modern consumer economy to collide in a conflicting yet harmonious way. This piece continues the reoccurring theme in Xu Zhen®'s Eternity series, highlighting a consistent observation and exploration on the topic of eternity, as well as the collision among classic visual images derived from different periods and civilizations in the context of current era and space.

 

The masculine totem pattern of the columns is juxtaposed with the heels, a material form of maturity and sexiness. The contrast between manliness and softness stimulates viewers’ imagination and feeds a variety of possibilities for understanding. This work, with its colossal scale and saturated bright tones, awakens the audience's perception and experience of the lasting Western civilization. The two Greek columns are inserted into the heels like legs. Athenian cultural symbols and contemporary female consumer cultural signs are integrated into one work. Across the span of time, popular culture creates a new aesthetic and visual experience in the carrier of historical inheritance; it as well metaphorically refers to the power structure, the sex of identity, and the gender recognition of controlling and being controlled.

XU ZHEN®'s latest sculpture Eternity (Greek Columns, Heels) combines the classic Corinthian columns with a pair of red heels, which propels the ancient Greek heritage culture and modern consumer economy to collide in a conflicting yet harmonious way. This piece continues the reoccurring theme in Xu Zhen®'s Eternity series, highlighting a consistent observation and exploration on the topic of eternity, as well as the collision among classic visual images derived from different periods and civilizations in the context of current era and space.

 

The masculine totem pattern of the columns is juxtaposed with the heels, a material form of maturity and sexiness. The contrast between manliness and softness stimulates viewers’ imagination and feeds a variety of possibilities for understanding. This work, with its colossal scale and saturated bright tones, awakens the audience's perception and experience of the lasting Western civilization. The two Greek columns are inserted into the heels like legs. Athenian cultural symbols and contemporary female consumer cultural signs are integrated into one work. Across the span of time, popular culture creates a new aesthetic and visual experience in the carrier of historical inheritance; it as well metaphorically refers to the power structure, the sex of identity, and the gender recognition of controlling and being controlled.

Eternity (Greek Columns, Heels)

Please scan the QR code to follow us on WeChat :

永生(希腊柱,高跟鞋)

徐震®

永生(希腊柱,高跟鞋)

2020

树脂、钢、喷漆、矿物颜料

820 x 390 x 133 cm

徐震®的最新雕塑作品《永生(希腊柱,高跟鞋)》将经典的柯林斯柱式与红色高跟鞋结合,使得古希腊传承文化与现代消费经济以一种既冲突又融合的方式碰撞在一起。作品延续了徐震®“永生”系列作品对不同时期、不同文明的经典视觉图像在当下时空中的碰撞与共生这一话题的关注和探索。

罗马柱阳刚的图腾纹样与高跟鞋凸显的成熟性感,其刚与柔的对比激发了观众的想象空间与理解的可能性。作品饱和鲜艳的色彩和庞大的体量,唤醒着观众对深远西方文明的知觉和体验。希腊柱如双腿一样被安置在高跟鞋中,雅典文化象征和当代女性消费文化符号被融合在一件作品中,横跨时间的鸿沟,流行文化在历史传承的载体里创造出一种全新的审美与视觉体验,同时也隐喻权力结构、身份性别、控制与被控制的性别认知。

徐震®的最新雕塑作品《永生(希腊柱,高跟鞋)》将经典的柯林斯柱式与红色高跟鞋结合,使得古希腊传承文化与现代消费经济以一种既冲突又融合的方式碰撞在一起。作品延续了徐震®“永生”系列作品对不同时期、不同文明的经典视觉图像在当下时空中的碰撞与共生这一话题的关注和探索。

罗马柱阳刚的图腾纹样与高跟鞋凸显的成熟性感,其刚与柔的对比激发了观众的想象空间与理解的可能性。作品饱和鲜艳的色彩和庞大的体量,唤醒着观众对深远西方文明的知觉和体验。希腊柱如双腿一样被安置在高跟鞋中,雅典文化象征和当代女性消费文化符号被融合在一件作品中,横跨时间的鸿沟,流行文化在历史传承的载体里创造出一种全新的审美与视觉体验,同时也隐喻权力结构、身份性别、控制与被控制的性别认知。

永生(希腊柱,高跟鞋)

公众号名称:徐震 XuZhen