Fortune: XU ZHEN®New Works 2017

“Fortune” generally refers to the notion of opportunity, driven by purposeless and unpredictable force. This kind of chance was considered by French biochemist Jacques Monod as the only cause of natural processes. In the East, “Fortune” also refers to the essence of materials and the natural order of life movements.

A new series of paintings and a sculpture created by Xu Zhen brand in 2017 deciphering the human cultural codes as well as humorous re-creation will be presented. The jade bracelets appearing in Fortune paintings date back to the oriental stone tools from 10,000 BC, and allude to halos as often seen in Icons of Christian Saints. Similar symbols can also be found in ancient Egyptian paintings depicting the god of sun–Horus or in Longmen Grottoes statues of Wei Jin Southern and Northern Dynasties.

Eternity – Nixian Sphinx, Sleeping Muse is the latest creation from Xu Zhen’s well known series “Eternity”. The combination of the ancient mythical creature Sphinx with the simple abstract classic oval head by Modernist sculptor Brancusi, superposes time and space forming a surreal cultural metaphor and a new visual image.

In a period of cultural instability with technological innovation and cognitive changes, Xu Zhen brand continuously explores and investigates clues in contingency through the use of humorous visual expression, in order to explore the origin of cultural consciousness, and re-connect different human civilizations. From the jades of the Neolithic period, ancient Greek statues and mythology to modernist sculptures of the twentieth century, the genes of human civilizations have been constantly extracted, reconstructed and regenerated in the creation of Xu Zhen brand, and will release new energies in the present context.

Please scan the QR code to follow us on WeChat :徐震 XuZhen

运气:徐震®新作

在徐震与 凤凰艺术记者谈到对于此次新作发布会而言,此次展出的《运气》系列,它主要是要向观众表达怎样的一个观念时,徐震说:

《运气》系列是徐震品牌2017年创作的绘画系列。这一系列的作品,强调了审美对于一种文化的重要性,如果丧失审美的要求那就丧失了文化的独立性。当今各种边界不断被打破、科技带来改变的同时,文化的使命就是消化这些改变、并呈现消化的结果。

在这次的新作中,雕塑作品《永生-纳克索斯岛斯芬克斯、沉睡的缪斯》无疑给在场的观众留下了深刻的印象。 它延续了永生系列雕塑的创作脉络,以古老神秘的狮身人面的斯芬克斯与布朗库西简洁抽象的经典现代主义卵形头相结合,时空交错的叠加共生形成了超现实的文化隐喻和全新的视觉图示。

在当下技术革新、认知巨变的文化变动时期,如何以幽默的视觉表达在偶然性之间寻找线索、以探究文化意识的本源,梳理与链接人类的文明线索,是徐震品牌持续关注和探讨的重要话题。 新石器时代的玉器、古希腊的雕塑与神话、直至二十世纪的现代主义雕塑,人类文明遗传的基因,在徐震品牌的创作中,被不断抽取、重组与再造,在新的历史语境中释放出全新的能量。

公众号名称:徐震 XuZhen