XU ZHEN®: “Hello”

On November 6, 2019, MadeIn Gallery will launch XU ZHEN®’s solo exhibition “Hello”, marking the second show of the artist’s brand in the gallery after “XU ZHEN Store” was presented in 2016. The exhibition will showcase a monumental kinetic sculpture and a set of newly created two-dimensional works. “Hello” pursues XU ZHEN®’s continuous focus on civilization iteration, fusion, collision as well as the constant exploration of the diversity of creative media, and adheres to the new development and acuteness of visual creation within the context of the post-global era.

 

“Hello” is a large-scale kinetic sculpture especially created for this exhibition, its form is elaborated from ancient Greek architecture pillars. As viewers stepped into the gallery they will see this large Greek pillar occupying the space such as a magnified and mutated snake, observing its surrounding as if nodding to the visitors. The Greek column symbolizes the origin and cornerstone of Western civilization. The work fuses together the classical Greek column shape and the snake’s aggressive biological attitude to stimulate viewers’ perception and experience on classic civilization. The moment the public’s eyes come across the vivacious Corinthian capital also represents a confrontation with the depth of history and civilization, gazing at each other, evoking Friedrich Nietzsche’s saying “If you gaze long enough into an abyss, the abyss will gaze back into you”. Nowadays, with the increasingly frequent blending and impacts among global civilizations, the work constitutes a reality and metaphor on the encounter between civilizations of different time and space.

 

“Hello” involves the combination of art and technology at the border between illusion and reality. It proposes a new vision imbued with Western classical aesthetics and cutting-edge robotics, expanding the concept of traditional sculpture.

 

Also displayed in the exhibition is a group of XU ZHEN®’s latest two-dimensional works “Communication”, consisting of multiple cartoon characters merged into a relief surface. These cartoon characters issued from classic mainstream animations include Mickey Mouse, Angry Birds, Mario Bros., Pikachu, Gingerbread Man, Smurf, Brown Bear, etc. They shape the younger generation’s visual aesthetics. The computer program simulates the fall of each form to the ground, amalgamating them together to compose a superposition of irregular color blocks with a sense of volume, and with a variety of rich, vivid tones and shapes. Using these familiar figurative cartoon images as abstract elements, the works subtlety plays and explores the boundaries between figuration and abstraction, two-dimensional and three-dimensional, popular culture and conceptual art. The highly saturated color and visual stimuli of the cartoons show through the precise and logical calculation of the computer program the visual trend for wild and rational symbiosis, which also is a characteristic of the digital era.

Please scan the QR code to follow us on WeChat :徐震 XuZhen

徐震®:“你好”

没顶画廊将于2019年11月6日隆重推出徐震®个展“你好”。这是徐震®在没顶画廊继2016年“徐震专卖店”之后的第二次个展,将呈现一件纪念碑式的自动雕塑和一组最新创作的平面作品。展览延续了徐震®对文明迭代、融合碰撞这一命题的持续关注和对创作媒介多元性的不断探索,秉持着在后全球时代语境中对视觉创造的高度敏锐和全新拓展。

 

《“Hello”》是为本次展览全新创作的体量庞大的自动雕塑作品,作品形态由古希腊建筑中的柱式发展、演变而成。当观众步入展厅,看到古希腊神庙的柱子如同一条放大、变异的蛇一般撑满空间,盘踞在画廊展厅中,东张西望,似乎在跟观众点头致意。希腊柱象征着西方文明的渊源和基石。作品用经典的希腊柱的形态与蛇所具有的充满攻击性的生物姿态,唤起观众对经典文明的知觉和体验。当观众与生动的柯林斯式的柱头眼神相遇的刹那,也是与其代表着的深厚的历史与文明的相遇、彼此凝视,正如尼采所言“当你凝视深渊的时候,深渊也在凝视着你。”在全球文明交融碰撞日益频繁的今天,作品构成了一个关于不同时空中的文明在当下相遇的现实和隐喻。

 

《“Hello”》涉及幻想和真实的边界、艺术与技术的结合,用西方古典审美形态与前沿的机器人技术创造了一种全新的视觉,拓展了传统雕塑的概念。

 

展览中同时呈现的是一组徐震®最新推出的平面作品“交流”,是由各种卡通形象融化交汇在一起的浮雕作品。这些卡通形象来自经典的流行动画,如米老鼠、愤怒的小鸟、马里奥兄弟、皮卡丘、姜饼人、蓝精灵、布朗熊等,他们塑造了年轻一代的视觉审美。每个形象在电脑程序中模仿自由落体、摔落在地上后彼此交融在一起,构成拥有体积感的不规则色块的互相叠加,色彩活泼缤纷、造型灵活生动。把令人熟知的具象的卡通形象作为抽象元素进行使用,作品巧妙地在具象与抽象、三维与二维、流行文化与观念艺术的界限上试探和游戏。卡通形象所具有的高饱和度色彩和视觉刺激,在电脑程序的精细理性的演算中,呈现出狂野和理性共生的视觉趣味,而这也正是数字时代的时代特征。

公众号名称:徐震 XuZhen